Still Every Year They Went

by Thirty Pounds of Bone & Philip Reeder

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Limited to 100 copies and comes in a lovely digi-pack, with artwork by Cheryl McCann.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Still Every Year They Went via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    edition of 100 

      £10 GBP or more 

    You own this  


  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £7 GBP  or more

    You own this


My Bonny Lad 01:55



On 15 April 2015, Philip Reeder and Thirty Pounds of Bone (Johny Lamb) went to sea aboard the Girl Emily, a 1974 commercial line fishing boat sailing out of Custom House Quay in Falmouth, Cornwall.

Faced with an unlikely and challenging studio environment on deck, Thirty Pounds of Bone performed nine new arrangements of traditional fishing/maritime songs, as the skipper and his mate went about their business of fishing.

Despite the inherently risible endeavour, vocal performances accompanied by guitar, shruti-box and two Monotribe synthesizers were captured by a variety of microphones alongside guest performances by bow-waves, seagulls, coastguard helicopters and various sea creatures. The sound of the boat, her engines, her wake, the creaks of her hull and her propeller are a fundamental challenge but also material for the album Still Every Year They Went.

The songs from or about the sea, and its associated practices, were taken back to the water—set amidst the environment of their origins. An unlikely collaboration emerges between Thirty Pounds of Bone’s dredger-paced lo-fi, and the phonographic studio methods employed by Reeder. The result is an album of material that speaks to older traditions, made relevant by a methodology that seeks new ways to render traditional song.


released November 29, 2019

Guitar, monotribes, shruti box, vocals, live arrangements and performances by Johny Lamb.

All songs Trad Arr except ‘The Halfway Song’ by Mary Hampton and ‘The Farewell Shanty’ by Mervin Vincent.

Thanks to: Martha and Steve Tilston, Mary Hampton, David Prior, Louisa Purchase, Emma Easy, George and Neil.

Recording, studio arrangements, post-recording composition, mixing by Philip Reeder.
Produced by Johny Lamb and Philip Reeder.

Mastered by Scott Maple at Mr Bendy’s Music Emporium.

All audio recorded live at at sea on The Girl Emily, 15th April, 2015.


all rights reserved